Seniors win Combined Sydney Zones shield

Seniors win Combined Sydney Zones Shield
Tony Tinworth, Thursday, 23 June 2011

Our seniors claimed a win of the Combined Sydney Zones Seniors shield after a convincing win over Zone 13 at Harbord today, winning 95 shots to 60, 6 points to 1. Despite there being one round for all other Zones still to play (we have a bye), the win puts the side in an unbeatable position since Zone 13 were second on the points table.

There being no opportunity for a formal presentation of the shield because of the format of the competition, Zone President Bob Moran made the presentation today to ourselves - which was possible because we were the holder of the trophy from last year. The side has the distinction of now being unbeaten in all 7 rounds of the competition and todays result means Zone 9 has won it on 4 occasions, 2007, 2008, 2010 and now 2011. Not bad for a competition which was inaugurated in 2005!

At the conclusion of play, President Bob alsp presented Zone badges to Vinco Beram, Mick Meecham and Mick Powell on there having now represented the Zone on 3 occasions.

The composition of the side has remained almost unchanged since the first round and today's players were:

Phil Carroll (Harbord), Graham Lewis (Manly), Dave Shearer (Harbord) & Crawford Linton (Belrose)
Brad Stelling (Dee Why), Mick Powell (Harbord), John Boreham (Dee Why) & Tony Taylor (Harbord)
Col Robertson (Manly), Mick Meecham (Dee Why), Rocky Davis & Phil Westcott (both Belrose)
Vinco Beram (North Sydney), Rob Hurst ( Harbord), Peter Ward & Bill Webb (both Asquith)

Missing from today's side was Rob Silber (Lindfield) who was unavailable but he has played in most previous rounds. 

Winning this event is a great encouragement for the next seniors event, the Alphapharm Inter-zone Sides Championship which will be played at Taren Point on 19th to 21st July. Most of today's players will be there.

Sorry, gents the other photos did not turn out.