Steve Vanderveer's team wins 2007 Zone 9 Fours Championship

Winners - 2007 Zone 9 Fours Championship
Tony Tinworth, Saturday, 24 February 2007

Steve Vanderveer's team today won the Zone 9 Fours Championship with a convincing 27 - 4 score over John Campton's team from Asquith Bowling Club.

This was third time lucky for Steve's team of Dave Shearer, Rod Hummelstad & Crawford Linton having been runners up in the 2005 Fours and semi-finalists in 2006. The final score was not indicative of a very closely fought game. The coup-de-grace was delivered by Steve Vanderveer when he delivered, what became the last bowl of the game, a bowl that removed John Campton's best bowl in the head to win the end by 5 shots.

18 year old John Campton's team of Neil Lemmey, Carl Perry & Bill Miller scored an upset 19 -12 win earlier in the day over Harbord's Shaun Thompson's team of Johnathon Pollard, Steve Ashdown & Steve Rawlings who had been expected to fight out the final. Shaun had replaced Steve Ashdown as skip of that team in the final rounds of the competition. In the other semi-final played this morning, Steve Vanderveer beat Hornsby's J McGrath's team 26 -11.

Runners up - 2007 Zone 9 Fours Championships