Juniors compete in Zone Junior Fours Championship

Winners of the Junior Fours Championship with sponsor Phil Baker

Champions of the future!

True professionals!

A close measure

Team concentration

Eric Hodge on the mat

Where's my bowl?

Junior Fours Champions

Presentation of Junior Shield to winners of Zone Fours Championships L-R Les McAlpine, Kenta Treacher, Bill Johnson, Eric Hodge & Heath Lister
Ron Piper, Sunday, 18 March 2007

Four teams competed in the  2007 Zone 9 Junior Fours Championships held at Belrose Bowling Club on Sunday 18th March.

There were 4 teams of boys and girls competing - teams A, B & C junior bowlers from Asquith BC and a composite team D of 3 bowlers from the Harbord Bowls Academy and 1 bowler from North Sydney BC. All were aged between 8 and 16 years old

The teams were as follows:  Team A:  Nathaniel Patterson, Matthew Williams, Pierce Taylor and Daniel Clarke

                                          Team B:  Louisa Muncey, Lani Clarke, Amanda Laird and Richard Hodge

                                          Team C:  Nicholas Vanderveer, Sean Irwin, Steven Craig and Dean Brockdorff

                                          Team D:  Bill Johnson, Eric Hodge, Heath Lister and Kenta Treacher         (Any names familiar?)

State Councillor Les McAlpine officially opened the competition and at the conclusion of play presented the Zone 9 Junior Shield to the winning team.

In the first round Team A defeated team B 42 - 0 and Team C went down to team D 5 - 28

In the second round team A played Team D for the Zone 9 Championship Shield whilst teams B and C played off for 3rd & 4th placings

Team D comprising Harbord Juniors Bill Johnson, Eric Hodge & Heath Lister and skip Kenta Treacher from North Sydney won the chamipionship 19 to 13 shots. They will go on to compete for the State Championship to be held in Warilla later in the year.

The youngsters displayed incredible skill and professionalism with all the antics, expressions and tactics of  seasoned bowlers. They must have been watching the adults!

The Championship was sponsored by Phil Baker, a member of the Harbord Hawks Premier League team and  proprietor of Aqua Fire Protection who are official sponsors of the Harbord Bowls Academy. Phil presented a cheque for $100 to members of the winning team. Unfortunately winners medallions had not arrived from the manufacturers in time for presentation and it is anticipated they will be presented at either the Zone Junior singles to be held at Asquith on 15th April or at the pairs championships at Harbord on 6th May.

My thanks go to Belrose Bowling Club President Perry Arundell, bowls secretary Perry Holland, chairman of umpires David Cook for having made the Club's facilities available and a special 'thank you' to Bill and Elaine Glenn who slaved over the barbeque.

Click photos to enlarge