Season opens with Allan Buckley Shield

Tony Tinworth, Sunday, 27 January 2008

The 2008 season of Zone matches commences the the Allan Buckley Shield to be played on Sunday 10th February at Asquith Bowling Club.

This annual event, named in honour of the Late Allan Buckley, who was a life member of Denistone Bowling Club and who died just before last years match, is played by 3 Sides against Zone 10. The event was won by Zone 9 last year by 230 shots to 223 shots, the first win by Zone 9 for many years. Lets hope we can continue to hold the trophy!

Players selected to represent the Zone in this years match are:

A Side:

D Meldrum (Harbord), R Hummelstad (Harbord), P Somers (Dee Why) & S Vanderveer (Harbord)

J Campton (Asquith), S Sheppard (Manly), N Lemmey (Asquith) & S Ashdown (Harbord)

P Morrow (Dee Why), B Franklin (Nth. Sydney), C Linton (Harbord) & C Threfall (Harbord)

D Shearer (Harbord), G Warren (Dee Why), J Pollard (Harbord) & S Rawlings (Harbord)

B Side:

S Smith (Harbord), M Smith (Belrose), G Hartmann (Belrose) & J Venteman (Belrose)

K Emura (Nth. Sydney), P Crossingham (Harbord), R Lawson (Harbord) & M Alexander (Harbord)

M Conroy (Asquith), A Nicholson (Dee Why), W Miller (Asquith) & T Warder (Harbord)

J Lewis (Nth. Sydney), R Noble (Neutral Bay), D Martin (Neurtal Bay) & G Kebourian (Nth. Sydney)

C Side:

P Carroll (Harbord), P Mitchell (Belrose), P Rawlings (Nth. Manly) & Reg Robinson (Nth. Manly)

A Cervera (Harbord), W Hamilton (Asquith), A Taylor (Harbord) & W Webb (Asquith)

K Wade (Dee Why), J Elphick (Belrose), J Henderson (Harbord) & J Boreham (Dee Why)

A Barnes (Dee Why), A Smith (Lindfield), D Tutton (Nth. Sydney) & Ray Robinson (Harbord)

A number of these players are representing the Zone for the first time. We wish them well!

The match commences at 10am. Asquith is convenient to many Zone 9 bowlers so lets go to the game and cheer them on!