Sides announced for Interzone Sides Championship

Tony Tinworth, Sunday, 31 August 2008

The annual Interzone Sides Championship is undoubtedly the most important Inter-zone event of the year. It sees the best of each of the States 16 Zone's players competing against each other for the Championship. The format of the event is sectional play with 4 sections each of 4 Zones, with section winners competing in semi-finals and finals.

Last year, it was Zone 9's honour to host the event. This year it will be hosted by Zone 12 with matches played at Mount Lewis and Birrong Bowling Clubs, commencing on Friday 12th September and concluding on Sunday 14th.

Players selected to represent our Zone are as follows:

D Meldrum (Harbord), D Shearer (Harbord), P Somers (Dee Why) & S Ashdown (Harbord)

S Sheppard (Harbord), B Franklin (Harbord), S Smith (Harbord) & C Threfall (Harbord)

J Campton (Harbord), G Warren (Dee Why), J Pollard (Harbord) & S Rawlings (Harbord)

L Trethowan (Asquith), M Alexander (Harbord), R Hummelstad (Mona Vale ) & S Vanderveer (Asquith)

Reserves are R Lawson (Harbord) and J Venteman (Belrose)

Last year we made it to the semi-finals. The Championship was won by Zone 12.  This year - who knows!

We wish all our teams the best of luck.