Zone side for Seniors Shield named

Tony Tinworth, Monday, 8 March 2010

The Combined Sydney Zones Seniors Shield competition has become an established event each year for our senior players. The competition is between sides of 4 teams from each of the 5 metropolitan Zones - 9,10,11,12 & 13- who play each Thursday in a round robin, obviously with one bye each round.

The first round will be played on Thursday 29th April ( our match at St Ives BC) and the competition runs through until 1st July.

The selectors have named our side for the competition this year as follows:

P Carroll (Harbord), D Shearer (Harbord), A Taylor (Nth Sydney) & B Linton (Belrose)
B Stelling (Dee Why), P Mitchell (Belrose), R Hurst (Harbord) & J Boreham (Dee Why)
A Dessaix (Harbord), J Henderson (Harbord), P Ward (Asquith) & W Webb (Asquith)
G Lewis (Manly), B Williamson (Harbord), G Hamilton (Turramurra) & P Westcott (Belrose)

The draw, and the results will be, on the website.

Last year the shield was won by Zone 12 with 6 wins. Zone 9 came in second with 4 wins. Hopefully we can do better this year.