Seniors win Seniors Sides Championship

Tony Tinworth, Friday, 25 June 2010

Our seniors sealed a win in the current Combined Sydney Zones Seniors Sides Championship by defeating Zone 13 by 7 points to nil in the final game for the side played at Harbord yesterday.

All the other Zones still have 2 more matches to play - Zone 9 has a bye next Thursday - but Zone 9 is now 14 points ahead of Zone 12 on the ladder and a 61 shot advantage if Zone 12 was able to score 2 maximum points wins in their remaining matches.

Zone 12 won this championship last year from Zone 9 but we took the title in 2008 from Zone 13 (by 1 point)

Yesterdays winning side comprised:

P Carroll, Palmer Mitchell, Dave Shearer & Crawford Linton - won 31-17
G Lewis, John Henderson, Phil Ward & Bill Webb - won 22-20
B Stelling, Barry Williamson, John Boreham & Tony Taylor - won 18-14
Adrian Smith, Andy Dessaix, Geoff Hamilton & Phil Westcott - won 21-17

Well done gents!