What is Zone 9?

Zone 9 - formally the Sydney Northern District Bowling Association (Zone 9 Inc.) - is the body responsible for the administration of lawn bowls on behalf of Bowls New South Wales (BNSW) for the area covering the North Shore and Northern Beaches area of Sydney; geographically from Sydney Harbour north to the Hawkesbury River and generally east of the Pacific Highway. It is one of 5 Sydney Metropolitan Zones within the 16 zones comprising the whole of NSW.


The Zone has 26 accredited clubs which have a total membership of approximately 2,500 male and, more recently, female bowlers.
The Zone's responsibilities include:
  • arranging the conduct of Zone competitions including Zone Championships, Pennants, Mid-Week Challenge
  • selecting teams to represent the Zone in various inter-zone competitions throughout the year
  • overseeing the implementation of the Laws of the Game within it's accredited clubs and accrediting coaches and umpires
  • ensuring the maintenance of standards of club greens
The present Zone was created in 1995 when the State was restructured into 16 zones and was modified again in 2004 when the Upper North Shore District Bowling Association and the Northern Suburbs District Bowling Association were abolished.